14 Useless Social Media Statistics Plus An Even More Useless Infograph

by Ashleigh Johnson

Guest post by Daniel Smith, Social Media Consultant at Propaganda House. Tweet him @propagandahouse

 

I tried to warn you.. I told you in the title that all I had was 14 useless social media statistics, and an even more useless infograph. But you still had to come look didn’t you? Well you’re here now so you might as well check them out. Just don’t go leaving slanderous comments saying I wasted precious time that you could’ve spent tending your crops on farmville. Firstly cause it’s not my fault you came, secondly cause it’s not my blog and I don’t want Ashleigh to get angry at me.


Why Am I Highlighting These Useless Social Media Statistics?

While I generally try to steer clear of cynicism, I couldn’t help be disturbed by the amount of time I was spending looking at infographs and stats on social media lately. Even more disturbing was the awe I was finding myself in at some of the stats. So much so that I was starting to drop numbers when I was catching up with friends. Picture this: Out for a nice lunch with friends, pleasant conversation, then all of a sudden I go “did you guys know that the average facebook user creates over 90 pieces of content per month?”. Wow, thanks for that Daniel.

While all these stats are impressive and fun to look at, it pretty much amounts to constructive procrastination. i.e. You’re learning, but you’re not learning anything that’s going to help you at the end of the day. After all, what kind of stats do businesses care about more: how many thousand minutes of youtube video have been uploaded in the last 4 seconds, or how many leads they can generate per month with an optimised youtube video?

Anyway thats my little rant about social media statistics. Now here’s those useless stats I promised – please feel free to reference me when you drop these at your next social outing:

#1 Justin Bieber gains an average of 207,788 fans on Facebook per week
#2 75 percent of Brand ‘Likes’ on Facebook come from advertisements
#3 48% of Twitter users never or rarely check Twitter
#4 Over 60% of people online use Facebook to stalk their ex
#5 During the average 20-minute period in 2010, there were: 1,5870,000 wall posts, 2,716,000 photos uploaded and 10,208,000 comments posted on Facebook
#6 In 2009, social gamers bought $2.2 billion in virtual goods; Predicted to increase to $6 billion by 2013.
#7 According to WhatsMyTwitterAccountWorth.com – Justin Biebers Twitter account is worth $2,892,543
#8 The record for most comments on a Facebook post is 529,335 held by Robert Esposito from Italy
#9 Users on YouTube spend a total of 2.9 billion hours per month browsing videos (326,294 years)
#10 Charlie Sheen holds the record for the fastest time to reach 1 million twitter followers at 25 hours and 17 minutes
#11 Justin Bieber’s favourite YouTube video is Chuck Norris fighting a bear
#12 People spend 700 billion minutes per month on Facebook
#13 One in every nine people on Earth is on Facebook (This number is calculated by dividing the planets 6.94 billion people by Facebook’s 750 million users)
#14 Justin Bieber DOES have a Skype account

Feel smarter now? Didn’t think so. Oh and sorry I didn’t warn you about the number of Bieber mentions, it kind of just happened. In case you haven’t had your fill of social media statistics, here’s the dessert – this time in infograph form! If you’ve got any other useless Social Media Statistics please leave them in the comments – I promise I’ll reference you when I bore my friends with them!

Twitterpalooza

Sources:
http://www.facebook.com/press/info.php?statistics
http://thenextweb.com/twitter/2010/12/11/nearly-half-of-all-twitter-users-dont-read-a-word-you-say/
http://www.arikhanson.com/2011/01/31/16-social-media-statistics-that-might-surprise-you/
http://www.allfacebook.com/how-facebook-users-clicked-during-the-average-20-minute-period-in-2010-2010-12
http://www.jeffbullas.com/2011/09/02/20-stunning-social-media-statistics/
http://www.thefactsite.com/2010/10/100-facts-about-justin-bieber.html
http://www.jeffbullas.com/2011/07/01/the-10-guinness-world-records-for-social-media-are/
http://www.socialpeel.com/2009/09/21/fun-facebook-facts/

2 Comments to “14 Useless Social Media Statistics Plus An Even More Useless Infograph”

  1. ’14 Useless Social Media Statistics’ – brilliant and I love the graphic by Ali Memon.

  2. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your post is just nice and i could assume youre an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

